My Favorite Salmon Recipe

Okay this is my first time ever making a fancy meal and I’m so excited to share it with all of you! This is Firestone’s recipe according to ABC Local News. I also made some asparagus as a side. Now I am no where near a cook, I normally just boil noodles or make a sandwich but this is totally doable! (It just takes some time)

dfghj

ghj

 

Salmon Recipe

Here’s what you need for the salmon:

  • 4 salmon fillets 6-8 oz each
  • 4 cedar planks (I actually put them in the oven because I don’t have cedar planks)

Here’s what you need for the salmon rub:

  • 1 tbsp paprika
  • 1 tbsp chili powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp kosher salt
  • 1 1/2 tsp sugar
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp onion powder
  • 1 tsp poultry seasoning
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper
  • 1/4 tsp white pepper (I couldn’t find this as the grocery store and have never heard of this before so I substituted black pepper!)
  • 1/2 tsp oregano
  • 1/8 tsp cayenne
  • 1/2 tsp cumin

Here’s what you need for the salmon glaze

  • 6 oz dark brown sugar (a little less than 1 cup)
  • 4 oz unsalted butter (1 stick)
  • 3 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1/4 cup Dijon mustard (or less depending on your taste)

Melt the salmon glaze in a sauce pan and beat together before pouring over salmon.

The original recipe posted on ABC says the salmon should cook for 10-12 minutes however since I cooked mine in the oven it took 18-20 minutes.

Asparagus

The asparagus is simple! I cooked it in a sauce pan with olive oil, salt and pepper. You can also wrap it in foil and stick it on the grill.

Bon appetit!

Leave a Reply

