Racism Is Alive and Well

   
Let me just preface this by explaining I am a white girl with blonde hair who grew up in the northwest suburbs of Chicago. I have never experienced racism nor saw a racist act. I’ve never actually heard someone say the n word in person in my life. Of course I watched the riots in Ferguson and Baltimore on TV and learned about Martain Luther King Jr. In school, but I have never experienced racism first hand… Until today.

I am so appalled by this one persons actions and hateful words. I’m not going to say what happened because that doesn’t matter. What I want everyone to know is not all white people are racists. And those who are racist, are extremely ignorant. While I’m shocked by what I witnessed today, I’m glad I was able to stand for what I believe, and I believe no one in this world deserves to be hated for the color of their skin, their religion, their origin, their sex, or their sexual orientation. Not one person deserves that.

I want it to be know that I, a white, Christian, european mutt, straight, female, will stand up for anyone being discriminated against, no matter who you are. Discrimination is not right and it needs to be stopped. It’s 2015 people. We’re better than this.

2 comments

  1. Pandoralives · June 2, 2015

    Your awareness, sensitivity and concern for others is refreshing.

    Like

    • Valerie · June 7, 2015

      Thank you! I think it’s about time we get rid of discrimination of any kind

      Like

Leave a Reply

